HIST274: The First World War (2021)
New York Times
Once you've signed up, you can search the NYT archives:
Use the filters at the top to narrow down your keyword search by date and section:
Times (London) Digital Archive
Your Librarian
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
Encyclopedia Articles
Chronicling America
Chronicling America
Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America is a searchable digital collection of historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Included in the website is the Directory of US Newspapers in American Libraries, a searchable index to newspapers published in the United States since 1690, which helps researchers identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them.
Library of Congress collections - by topic
World War I: Newspapers by Topic
- Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand (1914-1918)
- Christmas Truce (1914-1915)
- Female Spies in World War One (1915-1922)
- Lafayette Escadrille: American Aviators in World War (1916-1918)
- League of Nations (1918-1920)
- Mata Hari (1905-1922)
- Pigeons in War (1901-1921)
- Planes in WWI (1908-1917)
- Red Cross (1914-1918)
- The Sinking of the Lusitania (1915)
- Tanks in World War I (1916-1918)
- Treaty of Versailles (1919)
- World War I Armistice (1918)
- World War I Declarations (1914,1917)
- World War I Draft (1917-1919)
- World War I Poetry (1916-1920)
- Zimmermann Telegram (1917)
Library of Congress collections - stars and stripes
Star
s and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918 to 1919
"This online collection includes the complete seventy-one-week run of The Stars and Stripes World War I edition. The Stars and Stripes was published in France by the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) of the United States Army from February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919. General John J. Pershing wanted a newspaper written by servicemen for the soldiers on the battlefront."
Library of Congress collections - rotogravures
Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures, 1914 to 1919
"This online collection is drawn from three primary sources: The War of the Nations: Portfolio in Rotogravure Etchings, a volume published by the New York Times shortly after the armistice that compiled selected images from their "Mid-Week Pictorial" supplements of 1914-19; Sunday rotogravure sections from the New York Times for 1914-19; and Sunday rotogravure sections from the New York Tribune for 1916-19."
"During the World War I era (1914-18), leading newspapers took advantage of a new printing process that dramatically altered their ability to reproduce images. Rotogravure printing, which produced richly detailed, high quality illustrations—even on inexpensive newsprint paper—was used to create vivid new pictorial sections."
Library of Congress collections - clippings
World War History: Newspaper Clippings,
1914 to 1926
"This vast online collection of World War I era newspaper clippings is from a single unique source: the 400-volume, 80,000-page set, World War History: Daily Records and Comments as Appeared in American and Foreign Newspapers, 1914-1926. Beginning with the assassination of Austrian Archduke Franz Ferdinand on June 28, 1914 and extending to the November 11, 1918 armistice and years after, the clippings yield significant information about the political, social, cultural, and economic impact of the war as it is taking place and its aftermath."
