chat loading...
Skip to main content

Architecture (2020): Background & Reference

A guide to research for students in Professor Hendricks's class, created by Librarian Maryke Barber

Architecture Encyclopedias and Dictionaries in the Library

Use these encyclopedias and dictionaries, found on the library's first floor, to help you find background information and sources:

Recommended Encyclopedias - a Sample!

Don't forget the encyclopedias in history and culture - they can help you quickly find reliable information about culture, society and other aspects of your topic.

Grove/Oxford Art Online Encyclopedia

Search this excellent art & architecture encyclopedia for types of structures, and people.

TIP: for particular buildings, first search for the city, choose the entry from "Grove Art Online" and use the left menu to go to "Buildings and Monuments."

Credo Online Encyclopedias

Credo Logo


Credo is a large collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries on all subjects; it also contains core titles such as the Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture.

To browse, check out these titles:

Oxford Reference Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online Search Box Example
Search Oxford Reference Online

O.R. contains reference information on all subjects. For architecture, try the "Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture."

Ask The Librarian

Maryke Barber's picture
Maryke Barber
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
mbarber@hollins.edu
(540)362-6592
Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 102

B.F.A., Music Theatre, Shenandoah College and Conservatory
M.F.A., Theatre, Virginia Commonwealth University
M.S., Information Science, University of Tennessee
Website
Subjects:Art, Dance, Film, Music , Theatre