chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture (2020): Books

A guide to research for students in Professor Hendricks's class, created by Librarian Maryke Barber

E-Book Options

Search the Hollins and Roa. College collections:

To limit your search to E-Books change "Everything" to "Books" and search; when you have results, look on the left side under "Availability" and limit them to "Full Text Online."

Google Books contains full text for books in the public domain (pre-1923); partial text for books under copyright.

You can also use this to choose a chapter or two to request via Interlibrary Loan.

You can also use this to choose a chapter or two to request via Interlibrary Loan.

Books and Films from Hollins and RC

Search OneSearch (Hollins + Roa. College collections)

More Books

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Worldcat: Find books in libraries worldwide, and order them via Inter-Library Loan if Hollins does not have them.

TIPS:

  • Using www.worldcat.org will sort your results by relevance; using hollins.worldcat.org will put our books first.
  • When searching for a person in Worldcat, it helps to add a search term (or two) about who they are/what they do - to sort them out from other people with the same name. Try the following formula for artists, for example:

Kathryn Clark and art*

or use the advanced search:

  • keyword: "kathryn clark"
  • subject: art*

Google Books contains full text for books in the public domain (pre-1923); partial text for books under copyright.

Very useful for finding out which books contain information on your topic; then you can order them via inter-library loan if Hollins doesn't have them.

Where are the....

Art Books

 

  • HU - General Collection:
    "NB" numbers are on the 3rd floor
  • HU - Folio: 1st floor 
  • HU Annex:use the "request" function in the online catalog

 

Art Journals

 

*shelved alphabetically*

  • current issues:Lewis Reading Room, 1st floor
  • older issues: ground floor "compact" shelves 

Sample Subject Terms

  • Architecture, Ancient
  • Architecture and Religion
  • Architecture and Society
  • Architecture, Domestic
     
  • Architecture + Name of city or country
    (e.g. Architecture - Italy ; Architecture ; Japan - History)
     
  • Names of people (e.g. Le Corbusier)

Add a Time Period:

  • Renaissance
  • Baroque
  • 19th, 20th century

Specific Building Types:

  • Bridges
  • Castles
  • Palaces
  • Pavilions
  • Skyscrapers
  • Wooden-frame houses

**********************************************

Doing keyword searches, you can combine terms in any way you like.
 
NOTE: This is only a starting point. Use all the terms you can think of that describe your topic in your searches.

Other Useful terms in the online catalog:

  • History
  • Social life and customs (as in "United States -- Social life and customs")
  • Social aspects
  • Manners and customs

Use the *

Use the *  (asterisk) to truncate your search terms, to search several terms at once.
Example:  architect* = "architect"+ ""+ "architects" + "architectural", etc.

British Architectural Library Catalogue

The catalogue of the B. A. L. is a great place to look for materials on architecture around the world:

British Architectural Library Catalogue