FREN 470/350: Nationality & Identity: History & Criticism
Featured Books
French Cinema by Call Number: HU General Collection - PN1993.5.F8 D73 2011bISBN: 9780571218493Publication Date: 2011-01-01
To Desire Differently: feminism and the French cinema by Call Number: HU General Collection - PN1995.9.W6 F6 1996ISBN: 0231104979Publication Date: 1996-07-25
French Cinema in the 1980s by Call Number: HU General Collection - PN1993.5.F7 P68 1997ISBN: 0198711190Publication Date: 1997-12-11
Reflects Culturels de la France Contemporaine by Call Number: RC General Collection - PC2460 .H66 1998ISBN: 0761809473Publication Date: 1997-12-18*This book is at RC. You can "request" it and it will be delivered to Hollins the next business day.
The Language and Style of Film Criticism by Call Number: e-book, click on title to accessISBN: 0415560969
There She Goes: Feminist Filmmaking and Beyond by Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 T42 2009ISBN: 0814333907Publication Date: 2009-10-15
Subject Searching
Be sure to look at subjects listed for any books or articles you like! You can find those on the librarycatalog page for a book or on the database page for a specific article and most of the time they are links you can click on. Some useful book subjects are:
Useful Websites
Criterion Collection
Descriptions and criticism of classic films.
Documentaryfilms.net
Reviews, interviews and other resources.
Film Archives Worldwide
List of moving image archives and research centers from the Library of Congress
Glossary of Filmographic Terms
Created by the Federation Internationale des Archives du Film.
Filmsite
Online encyclopedia, best lists, director filmographies, milestones, timelines, reference lists and more.
Great Directors: a Critical Database
"Within each profile is a critical essay, filmography, bibliography and web resources for further research."
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Online database with plot summaries, cast and crew lists, reviews, statistics and more.
Library of Congress: Historical Motion Pictures Online
Edison's early motion pictures, animation, industrial films and more.
Literary & Dramatic Adaptations
Database of films based on books, plays, and more.
Media History Project
The history of film, television and other media through classic magazines such as Moving Picture World and Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers: also check out the timeline, extensive links, key words/concepts and more.
Pacific Film Archive Cinefiles
"Database of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents. The collection contains documents from a broad range of sources covering world cinema, past and present."
Online Film Dictionary
Look up film terms in foreign languages.
Open Video Project
Shared digital images collections from the national Aechives, Internet Archives, universities and more.
Performing Arts Databases of AHDS
Digital arts resources of the British Arts and Humanities Data Service: includes both film archives and writings on film.
SilentEra.com
Lists, bios, articles, etc.
Toonopedia
An online encyclopedia covering all aspects of cartoons.
Your Librarian
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University