chat loading...
Skip to main content

FREN 470/350: Nationality & Identity: Articles & Databases

This guide will help you in Professor Fallon's Spring 2015 course, Nationality & Identity

Databases

WHAT IF AN ARTICLE ISN'T FULL TEXT IN MY DATABASE?

First, make sure you're looking at an article. Then click on Hollins JournalFinder. The video below shows you what you'll see.

View the video:journalfinder_movie

Newspapers

Limit your results to French newspapers by clicking on "Geography" in the left sidebar of results.


Journals

Browse editions of journals decided to film and/or French culture OR find a specific journal article from a citation by searching "Journal Finder". Not sure how it works? Here's a video

SUGGESTED JOURNALS

  • Cineaste
  • Cahiers du Cinéma
    • ​​We do not have Cahiers du Cinéma​, but you can browse the table of contents for issues by clicking on the "Archives" tab, then "LES SOMMAIRES". Request useful articles through InterLibrary Loan!
  • Film Comment
  • Film Criticism
  • French Politics, Culture, and Society
  • The French Review
  • Screen
  • Sight & Sound
  • Studies in French Cinema

ARTICLE INDEXES

Indexes help you search older magazines and newspapers for film reviews and articles.  These are the most important print indexes for film research:

SHELVED ALPHABETICALLY

  • Art Index (includes film, 1929-1984)
  • Biography Index (1946-2006)
  • Film Literature Index (1973-1997)
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-1986)
  • New York Times Index (1851-present)
  • N.Y.T. Obituary Index (1858-1978)
  • Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-present) Pre-1977 look under "moving picture plays", 1977 - "motion pictures".

SHELVED IN REFERENCE

  • The Critical Index: a Bibliography of Articles on Film in English (1946-1973) Z5784.M9 G47
  • Film Review Annual (1987-2000) PN 1995.F 465
  • Motion Picture Directors: a Bibliography of Articles (1900-1972) Z5784.M9 S34
  • N.Y.T. Film Reviews (1913-1968)PN 1995.N 4

Your Librarian

Rebecca Seipp's picture
Rebecca Seipp
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328