HIST350: Early Modern Microhistories
Sourcebooks available to you
A Political History of Tudor and Stuart England by Call Number: online, or request print copy from Roanoke CollegePublication Date: 2002
Renaissance Woman: a Sourcebook by Call Number: online, or at HQ1149 .G7 R46 1995Publication Date: 1995
Travels to Tana and Persia, by Josafa Barbaro and Ambrogio ContariniCall Number: onlinePublication Date: 2017
Tradition and Diversity: Christianity in a world context to 1500 by Call Number: online
Regulating Non-Muslim Communities in the Seventeenth-Century Ottoman Empire: Catholics and CapitulationsCall Number: onlinePublication Date: 2022
Gateways
- Early Modern ResourcesA curated collection of many more specific document collections and digitized archives, this resource provides links to many other primary source databases.
Books/Manuscripts
- Early Modern Books, including Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowEarly Modern Books covers material from the British Isles and Europe for the period 1450-1700. An integrated search across both Early English Books Online and Early European Books allows scholars to view materials from over 225 source libraries worldwide. EEBO's content draws on authoritative short-title catalogues of the period and features many text transcriptions specially created for the product. Content from Europe covers the curated Early European Books Collections from 4 national libraries and London's Wellcome Library.
Subject coverage includes:
Literature
History
Art and architecture
Philosophy
Linguistics
Religion
Politics
Government
- Early Modern Manuscripts OnlineProvides transcriptions, metadata and images of manuscripts from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. From the Folger Shakespeare Library.
- EarlyPrintA curated collection of early printed English, this resource of early print materials provides tools for both reading/editing and for searching/analyzing the texts.
Subject-focused
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online This link opens in a new windowMore than 4,700 publications (books, pamphlets and periodicals) reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
- Slavery And Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new windowSlavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. This database includes 4 parts:
1) Debates over Slavery and Abolition
2) Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
3) The Institution of Slavery
4) The Age of Emancipation
- Hanover College Historical Texts ProjectBrings together English translations online of many medieval, Renaissance, and early modern European textual sources, organized by subject.
Governmental sources
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
U.K. Parliamentary Papers provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It includes detailed primary source for the history of Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.