French Research
More Books
Worldcat: Find books in libraries worldwide, and order them via Inter-Library Loan if Hollins does not have them.
TIP: Using www.worldcat.org will sort your results by relevance; using hollins.worldcat.org will put our books first.
Google Books contains full text for books in the public domain (pre-1923); partial text for books under copyright.
Very useful for finding out which books contain information on your topic; then you can order them via inter-library loan if Hollins doesn't have them.
Book locations
- HU-General Collection: located on the 2nd (P-Z) and 3rd (A-N) floors of the library
- RC-General Collection: click Request this item for delivery in 1 week day!
- E-Books: follow the link to read the book online!
- HU-Reference books: located on the ground floor of the library
OneSearch: Books, Articles, Films & More
Articles, Databases, and Online Collections
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe library's largest general interest database. Partial full text.
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- MLA (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography indexes books, articles and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, providing coverage from 1926 to the present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text academic journals and eBooks in the arts and sciences by Johns Hopkins Univ. Press and other scholarly publishers.
- GallicaGallica is the digital library for the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Smart Searching Tips
Try different key words in your searches:
- People, types or names (who is writing your document? Who are important figures in this nationalist movement?)
- Places (Germany, etc...)
- Time periods or events (18th century - use numbers as opposed to writing out time periods!)
- Movements (nationalism, Fascism)
- Groups (sans-culottes)
Add to your list by looking for:
- Subject terms in the catalog and databases
- related terms (king - leader)
- synonyms (property - land)
No results? Search more broadly:
Try your search using fewer terms, or change to broader terms: for example, use the term artist (broad), instead of just painter (narrow).
Too many results? Narrow down by adding something:
Try combining search words, using "and" in between: nuns and education
SUBJECT TERMS:
- When you find a book that looks good, scroll down and look at the subject terms. This can lead you to other good sources and help you generate keywords.
