French Research
LoC Research Guide
Potential titles of interest
A companion to contemporary French cinema by Call Number: EbookISBN: 1118585445Publication Date: 2015
Reimagining North African Immigration by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1526143534Publication Date: 2020-01-02
Group identities on French and British television by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1800735081Publication Date: 1999
Subject Searching
Pay attention to how databases describe or classify the books/articles on your topic. Often, these are done with subjects or keywords and it's a great way to find additional works on your topic.
Journals
Sometimes it's useful to search inside a specific journal. Below are some suggested journals for film/television studies and French culture.
- Cineaste
- Cahiers du Cinéma
- We do not have Cahiers du Cinéma, but you can browse the table of contents for issues by clicking on the "Les numéros" tab, then "Les Sommaires". Request useful articles through ILL.
- Film Comment
- Film Criticism
- French Politics, Culture, and Society
- The French Review
- French Screen Studies
- Screen
- Sight & Sound
- Studies in French Cinema
Useful Websites
Criterion Collection
Descriptions and criticism of classic films.
Documentaryfilms.net
Reviews, interviews and other resources.
Film Archives Worldwide
List of moving image archives and research centers from the Library of Congress
Glossary of Filmographic Terms
Created by the Federation Internationale des Archives du Film.
Filmsite
Online encyclopedia, best lists, director filmographies, milestones, timelines, reference lists and more.
Great Directors: a Critical Database
"Within each profile is a critical essay, filmography, bibliography and web resources for further research."
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Online database with plot summaries, cast and crew lists, reviews, statistics and more.
Media History Digital Library
The history of film, television and other media through classic magazines such as Moving Picture World and Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers: also check out the timeline, extensive links, key words/concepts and more.
Film Archive Cinefiles
"Database of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents. The collection contains documents from a broad range of sources covering world cinema, past and present."
Online Film Dictionary
Look up film terms in foreign languages.
Open Video Project
Shared digital images collections from the national Aechives, Internet Archives, universities and more.
SilentEra.com
Lists, bios, articles, etc.
Toonopedia
An online encyclopedia covering all aspects of cartoons.