HIST/GWS 150: Gender & Sexuality in the British Empire

More than 4,700 publications (books, pamphlets and periodicals) reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Collection includes publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945.

The Times (London) Digital Archive is an online, full-text version of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.

Using a wide array of primary source documents—serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals—Women and Transnational Networks focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective.

"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."

Provides an international set of resources, though primarily U.S.-based, to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy.

Database was built to enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Included primary source materials will enable researchers to explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions

Colonial slavery shaped modern Britain. The slave-owners were one very important means by which the fruits of slavery were transmitted to metropolitan Britain. Research and analysis of this group are key to understanding the extent and the limits of slavery's role in shaping British history and leaving lasting legacies that reach into the present.

Our collections - Documents and Visual Stills - are associated with the cultural and social history of people with disabilities across the lifespan and diagnosis categories. The records here illuminate everyday practices, dominant ideologies, and alternative perspectives. You will find individual voices as well as the opinions and rhetoric of groups. Sometimes you will discover items that are simply unique. Medical history finds a place when the subject is relevant to our Education programs. Most, but not all, of the Collections' records were produced in the United States from 1800 to the present.