Hist112: Rise of Modern American 2023
Newspapers
- The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger This link opens in a new window
- The Arizona Republican This link opens in a new window
- The Atlanta Constitution This link opens in a new window
- Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
- The Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
- The Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
- The Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- The Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- Chicago Defender (1910-2010) This link opens in a new window
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- The Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window
- The Cincinnati Enquirer This link opens in a new window
- Cleveland Call and Post This link opens in a new window
- Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
- Life Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- New York Times: Historical Archives (1851-3 years ago) This link opens in a new window
- Roanoke Times historical archive (1889-1989) This link opens in a new window
- Rolling Stone This link opens in a new window
Your Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328
Searching for primary sources in books
When searching a database of books (think: OneSearch, Google Books, or WorldCat):
- Use keywords associated with primary sources, like: diaries / journals / sources / personal narratives / correspondence / letters / documents
Also, look for Library of Congress Subject Headings with those terms. For example:
General
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
- Education Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
- Human Rights Studies This link opens in a new window
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
- LGBT Rights and Culture This link opens in a new window
- Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- Proquest History Vault This link opens in a new window
- The Sixties: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
- Women and Social Movements (United States) This link opens in a new window
- Disability History Museum Library This link opens in a new window
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 This link opens in a new window
