chat loading...
Skip to main content

ENG/GWS 342: Speculative Feminists: Annotated Bibliographies

Spring 2014

Annotations

Per Professor Pfeiffer's assignment, your evaluative annotated bibliography will: 

  • provide citation information for each of your sources
  • discuss the source
  • explain how the source contributes to your research

An annotated bibliography provides others with an overview of the critical literature on a given topic.

Examples and Resources

Writing an Annotated Bibliography (from the University of Toronto)

Includes a good section on assessing the relevance of sources, as well as a list of helpful language for talking about texts and arguments

http://www.writing.utoronto.ca/advice/specific-types-of-writing/annotated-bibliography

 

Why have an annotated bibliography?

  • First, it will help you organize and make sense of your research.  Each source is a piece of the puzzle and sometimes it is difficult to conceptualize how each piece will fit together; your annotated bibliography requires that you thinking critically about each source and should help you see the big picture. 
  • Next, your annotated bibliography will help others make sense of your research.  Professors will be able to see the direction you are taking with your research and can offer their expertise to guide you in next steps of your research.  In a more professional setting this can be included in a project proposal (or other type of application) to help grant administrators and others in charge understand why you research is important - hopefully it will entice them to assist you with your next steps!
  • Third, this gives you a head start on your bibliography.  You always need to cite your sources and this will give you a head start on that process.

More descriptive information about annotated bibliographies can be found here, courtesy of the Purdue OWL.