chat loading...
Skip to main content

Children's Literature Research: Books

Quick Links to Find

TRY THIS: 

Search: Science Fiction
THEN, use the filters on the left - limit by LOCATION: HU-Juvenile Coll. - Third Floor

Searching for Books

Use the search box below to search the combined holdings of Roanoke and Hollins. 

Where are the books?

The library maintains two unique print collections to support the Children's Literature program. Both collections are locatd in the McDonnell Hall Children's Literature Wing on the third floor.

  • The children's literature reference collection (location: HU Children's Alcove) contains encyclopedias, journals, & subject guides, as well as scholarly texts useful for the study of children's literature.
  • The juvenile book collection (location: HU Juvenile) contains regular and oversize fiction and nonfiction materials for children and young adults, both contemporary and historical. 

In addition, Hollins shares a library catalog with Roanoke College, which also holds many children's book. When you search the library catalog you are searching both the Hollins & Roanoke College library collection. To obtain a book from Roanoke College click the "request item" button online and the book will be delivered to our ciruclation desk the next business day. 

Books in OneSearch

Identifying books on a subject

The library subscribes to some databases that allow you to search only children's books, based on a variety of factors (such as reading level, subject, etc.). The results will probably give you many books we do *not* have here, but you may be able to get them at the public library or through Interlibrary Loan.