Course Guides: ART/CLASS245: Myth and Ancient Art (2021): Journals & Databases

Looking for a Journal?

Got citation, need full text?

Use OneSearch to see if Hollins has access, in a database or in the library:

If Hollins does not have access, use Inter-Library loan.

Journals in the Library

The journals we have "in print" are shelved alphabetically:

current issues:
Lewis Reading Room, 1st floor

older issues:
ground floor "compact" shelves

First, make sure you're looking at an article. Then click on Hollins JournalFinder. The video below shows you what you'll see.

ARTstor Image Collections (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
*Image database
TIP: using Advanced Search, you can narrow your search by date range, geography or classification.
Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Full text-articles from a wide range of journals in the arts and sciences. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by discipline – Art and Art History, or search only in the abstracts or captions of an article
Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
600+ full-text journals on art, architecture, film & photography. Includes scholarly journals, international titles, images, and also books; topics include art theory and criticism, news, exhibition reviews and more.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Includes over 1,200 art journals. Citations only, no full text, for articles published 1975 - 2007. Offers both basic and advanced search modules, searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 7,000 publications on all academic subjects, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. You will also find books, reports, etc.

Google Scholar
Broad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Not all full text, but you can find some interesting material not found elsewhere.

Dissertations Online This link opens in a new window
Grove/Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most complete available encyclopedia and dictionary for the study of art; includes images and object information.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This database may have useful information if others fail. Good coverage of social theory, gender & women's studies in these full-text academic journals (arts and sciences) published by Johns Hopkins University Press.