ART/CLASS245: Myth and Ancient Art (2021): Reference Sources
Reference Books in the Library
The LIMC, Brill's New Pauly and the OCD are the main sources you will use to research your myth, and to find references to the myth's ancient sources.
All of these can be found in the Reference Section on the first floor. (Descriptive notes courtesy of Prof. Salowey.)
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC)Call Number: HU-Reference N7760 .L49 1981
Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient worldCall Number: HU-Reference DE5 .N4813 2002Make sure you use the blue-titled volumes!
Author abbreviations can be found in Vol. 1.
Oxford Classical DictionaryCall Number: HU-Reference DE5 .O9 2012(can also use DE5 .O9 1999)
Excellent resource for many aspects of the ancient world. The dictionary includes a good list of standard abbreviations for ancient authors and texts. It does not have every obscure mythological figure, but each entry has basic entry level bibliography on the topic.
Reference, Part Two: Other Useful Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
All of these can be found in the Reference Section on the first floor. (Descriptive notes courtesy of Prof. Salowey.)
Early Greek Myth: A Guide to Literary and Artistic Sources by Call Number: BL782 .G34 1993An excellent resource on the sources for Greek mythology. The book is not organized like a dictionary, but has separate chapters covering different types of myths: creation, heroes, etc. To find information on a specific mythological figure, try the index.
The Meridian Handbook of Classical Mythology by Call Number: BL303 .T75 1974A very good dictionary of mythological topics with concise, descriptive entries and basic information about ancient literary sources.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by Call Number: DE5 .O94 1998A more basic and accessible reference tool than the OCD. The entries are listed in an appendix by subject (e.g. Greek myth and religion, Roman myth and religion). At the back of the book are excellent appendices with maps and chronologies.
Also online, in Oxford Reference online encyclopedia
Dictionary of Ancient Deities by Call Number: BL473 .T87 2001This book has some “popularizing” information, but a very complete listing of deities with a reliable set of alternate names for deities.
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology by Call Number: BL715 .D56 1998This encyclopedia has good general entries for various mythological figures and many alternate spellings.
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome by Call Number: DE59 .C55 1988This book is organized topically with solid discussions by experts on various aspects of the ancient Mediterranean. Volume 2 has a section on religion. Volume 3 has a section on types of literary and visual arts.
The Routledge Dictionary of Egyptian Gods and Goddesses by Call Number: e-Book: click to log inA general listing with definitions of the complex of Egyptian deities. There are very good tables of artistic symbols for the plethora of Egyptian divinities.
A Dictionary of Ancient Egypt by Call Number: DT58 .B95 1995A general dictionary of topics on Egypt. An index compiles the listings according to topic.
A Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects from Classical Literature by Call Number: N7760 .P68 1983A relatively odd dictionary that lists some common images from classical art and gives possible literary motivations for each image.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Call Number: N5610 .G76 2007
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s by Call Number: NX650.M9 R45 1993
Greek and Roman Sculpture in Stone by Call Number: NB85 .G76 2003
Online Encyclopedias
- Grove/Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThe most complete available encyclopedia and dictionary for the study of art; includes images and object information.
- Credo This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference; all subjects including a variety of art dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference from Oxford University Press; all subjects including a variety of art dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Your Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328