chat loading...
Skip to main content

Comm344: Health Communications 2020: Finding Articles

Mass Media, including Newspapers and Magazines

For newspaper sources, use the following resources:

For magazine sources, use the following database:

Searching Tips

  • Keywords = Terms important to your topic, NOT words such as of, then, where, etc.
  • Think about your topic. What other words are used to represent your topic?
  • Pay attention to the words used in your results (particularly in the subject heading). What other words are used?
  • Combine separate concepts with AND. 
  • Combine synonyms with OR. Example: (journalism or reporting) and war.

Results

  • Sort by date or relevance.
  • E-mail or print articles you are interested in.
  • Get a formatted ciation for an article.
  • Too many results?
    • You can immediately refine/narrow your results on the results screen by Full Text Availability; Year of Publication; Souce Type; and Subject.

Suggested databases:

You will want to use both the communication studies literature and the medical literature to help research your topic.

Expect to use Interlibrary Loan if you need articles from medical  journals! For more about Interlibrary Loan, check out the "Then Finding Full Text" tab.

About PubMed and MedLine

PubMed is a free database organized by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. MedLine is a version of that database available in the ProQuest interface.

  • When searching MedLine or PubMed, you can limit your results to articles that have studied a specific age range (for example, 19-24).
  Medline from ProQuest PubMed
Content Includes only fully indexed articles Includes more recently published articles
Results Ranked by relevancy by default Can be ranked by relevancy, but default is by date
Getting Full Text Use the Journal Finder link to check for full text Full text links provided to articles available free online

Your Librarian

Luke Vilelle's picture
Luke Vilelle
chat loading...
Contact:
Office: Library's second floor: up the middle stairs, go right, and you'll see a sign pointing to my office. Schedule appointment here: https://calendly.com/lvilelle/30min
______
362.6232
Website