chat loading...
Skip to main content

EDUC141: Schooling in American Society 2019: Scholarly Journal Articles

Education Research Complete and ERIC: your two education databases

Education Research Complete provides better journal coverage, and direct access to many journal articles, while ERIC includes many more non-journal sources. Both include trade journals as well as scholarly publications.

Scholary Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases include scholarly literature from many different subject areas.

Reading an Article

Education Research Complete

  • Use the word AND to separate keywords. Otherwise it will assume you are searching for a phrase.
  • You may limit your results to Academic Journals, or just those that are Peer-Reviewed.
  • Pre-formatted citations  are available on the right side when looking at an article abstract.
  • Use an * as a wild-card (for instance, bull* will catch bullying, bullied, bullies, etc.)
  • Use the Subjects on the left side of the results screen (also available when looking at an article) to focus your results.

ERIC

ERIC is a government-created database that tracks education literature, published both in journal articles and in informally-published reports/papers.

Each record in the database is assigned an ED or EJ number.

ED stands for ERIC Document, and represents a wide-range of education-related materials from publishers, research centers, policy organizations, the U.S. Department of Education, other federal and state agencies, and conference. Most EDs are available online free of charge (unless it’s a book). Older ED’s may or may not be online – if not, ask me to see if we have it in our microfiche collection.

EJ stands for ERIC Journal article. These will not be available full text within ERIC.

Trade Journals (for teachers and practitioners)

Trade journals are written for practicing teachers and others in education. They will reflect challenges facing the field, represent practitioners' concerns, and translate original research into practical advice. 

Your Librarian

Luke Vilelle's picture
Luke Vilelle
chat loading...
Contact:
Office: Library's second floor: up the middle stairs, go right, and you'll see a sign pointing to my office. Schedule appointment here: https://calendly.com/lvilelle/30min
______
362.6232
Website