Comm215: Constructing Gender 2021: Finding Articles
Scholarly Articles in the Comm Studies field
- Communication & Mass Media This link opens in a new windowOur most comprehensive collection of communication studies journals.
- SAGE Journals (primarily Communication Studies titles) This link opens in a new windowAccess to the small number of SAGE journals to which we have subscriptions. Primarily is communication studies titles.
Scholarly articles from GWS
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Focused on scholarly journals, with the inclusion of some activist publications.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowContains full text for many of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. Includes both scholarly and activist sources. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
Key journals
- Feminist Media StudiesABSTRACTS ONLY! A forum for researchers pursuing feminist approaches to the field of media and communication studies.
- Women's Studies in CommunicationA feminist forum for diverse research, reviews, and commentary addressing the relationships between communication and gender.
Articles across the disciplines
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Note the need to evaluate results: it's not all full text, and it's not all scholarly. To link Google Scholar to library resources, click on Settings, then click on Library Links, then search for Hollins and check those boxes
OneSearch: searches across our article databases and book holdings.
Searching Tips
- Keywords = Terms important to your topic, NOT words such as of, then, where, etc.
- Think about your topic. What other words are used to represent your topic?
- Pay attention to the words used in your results (particularly in the subject heading). What other words are used?
- Combine separate concepts with AND.
- Combine synonyms with OR. Example: (journalism or reporting) and war.
Results
- Sort by date or relevance.
- E-mail or print articles you are interested in.
- Get a formatted ciation for an article.
- Too many results?
- You can immediately refine/narrow your results on the results screen by Full Text Availability; Year of Publication; Souce Type; and Subject.
Your Librarian
Luke Vilelle
he/him
Contact:
Office: Library 1st floor: next to building entrance. Schedule an appointment at this URL: https://calendly.com/lvilelle/30min
______
______
362.6232
Website