chat loading...
Skip to main content

Graduate Playwriting Research at Hollins (2020)

This page provides guidance to students in Hollins University's graduate playwriting program: how to find materials in the library, and how to do research using sources both in and beyond the library. Welcome!

Articles in OneSearch and Google Scholar

Search OneSearch (Hollins + Roa. College collections)

More Databases: Scholarly

Sign in using the Hollins login you use for my.hollins, email, etc.

More Databases: News

New York Times Subscription

The Library offers a free group subscription to The New York Times for current faculty and students. To use this subscription in Summer 2020, email a request to Maryke Barber at mbarber@hollins.edu

Search Tip: Combining Key Words

AND, OR, & NOT (also known as "Boolean operators") help you combine search words, to find what you are looking for. Watch this video to find out how it works:

Adapted from the materials created by The University of Auckland Library, NZ. This video is covered by a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-ShareAlike license.

Play Indexes

Use these collections to search for pre-2000 plays by subject, or search for hard-to-find items that may have been published in a magazine, collection or anthology:

Play Index
(1949-1997)
Reference Z5781.P53

Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections
(1900-2000)
Reference PN1655 .O88 2011
 

Theater Index to Plays in Periodicals
(through 1987)
Reference Z5781.K43

To search for contemporary plays in collections, use Worldcat

Indexes to Historical Articles

LOCATION: the first floor of the library, on the first shelves across from the reference desk.

RECOMMENDED INDEXES:

  • Biography Index
    (
    1946-2006)
  • Essay & General Literature Index
    (1900-1979)
  • New York Times Index*
    (1851-current)
  • Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
    (1900-present)

*for reviews from 1920-1980, use the New York Times Theatre Reviews ( PN1581 .N4 )

 

 

NOTE:

·         Useful for finding older articles that may not yet be searchable online.

·         Search by play name, playwright, theater company or other subject.

·          Does the library have that journal?  Check the title in OneSearch