Instruction: Exercises for FYS and Other Courses: Evaluation (FYS)

• Students work in groups to brainstorm evaluation categories; can be think-pair-share, followed by a quiz in which they apply these to two sources: which is better, A or B?
• Discussion prompt: which categories do you think are most important in research for this class?
   

Give the student(s) (tis can be a group exercise) a list of 10 sources. They are to choose which of these they'd use for their assignment, and discuss why.

Variation: give students a bibliography from the end of a research article. Have them investigate what the sources are, and which they'd want to track down in full text.

You can extend this by actually having the students actually track things down:

• Does the library have this book?
• Is this journal article available in full text?
• If not, how do I request it?

Students working in groups to compare 2 or 3 docs (from links); answering prompts such as 

• How are these formats different? 
• Who created this? How does the creator determine what's in the document, and how it looks?
• Who do you think this document is for? How does the audience determine what’s in the document, and how it looks?

Web evaluation game
(hands-on,  small groups, 60 min.)
from ili-L listserv

Equipment needed: whiteboard, markers, computer classroom, projector, index cards, small prizes are excellent motivators (candy, stickers).

60 minute Class Structure

• Intro (10 min) – general discussion (with faculty) of rules and criteria for selection of internet sites
• Group Student Research (15 min)
• Report back (30 min)
• Wrap up (5 min)

The Game:

• Team-based play; topic is pre-determined.
• First, each team decides on their own what their final criteria are for evaluating web sites
• They then search for information on the topic, choosing sites that match each of their criteria: find at least 2 sources
• They record the information that matches criteria on index cards
• Finally, students present their findings (alternative idea: have students debate site choices)

A Guide to Crap Detection Resources

Quick checklist:

1. Who wrote this?
2. Who published this?
3. When did they publish it?
4. What's in it for them? (bias)
   
5. Can I verify it? (accuracy)
   
6. Does it work for me? (appropriateness)

Each of the boxes on this page will tell you how to apply a question to your research.

Who is/are the authors? Are they qualified to write on this topic? Are they associated with any institution that makes them more or less credible on this topic?

DO THIS: Do a quick search for an author's bio or cv (= academic resume). You can also check to see whether the author has written any other papers or books on the same topic.

Make sure websites provide you with the name of the actual author (not just the webmaster).

Can't tell who the author is? You should never use information that you can't verify in an academic paper.

DO THIS: find a description of the publisher of your book or article, or find their website. What types of things do they publish, and who is their audience?

OK to use: art history book by Yale University Press.
Why? University publishers produce academic-quality books that have been written by experts in the field, and have been fact-checked before they are published.

Questionable: book on Susan B. Anthony by Scholastic Publishing.
Why? Scholastic is actually a publisher that produces books for K-12 schools. The information in the book will be accurate, but for a college paper you can find a book that's more at your level.

Questionable: book on the Civil War published by Author House.
Why? Author House is a website that helps people self-publish: anyone can write a book and publish via Author House. No fact-checking, no guarantee of subject expertise.

Online:

• .com = business
• .org = organization
• .gov = government agency
  
• .edu = school
• .edu/~morgan = Mr. Morgan's personal page at Unnamed University.
  

DO THIS: find a date.Consider

1. whether there may be more recent information on your topic, and
2. whether it is important to your paper that you use the most recent information.

• On web pages, find the date the material was originally written, and when the page was last updated.
• Journal article in a database: make sure you know when the article was originally written (don't confuse tthat with the date it was added to the database)

DO THIS:  use your information about the author and publisher to determine whether they may have a bias about your topic.

If they do, you will have to make this clear in your paper when you use any information from their writing. Consider:

• Is the information fact, or opinion?
• What is the purpose? What do the authors want to accomplish?
• Is there an implicit or explicit bias?

DO THIS:

1. check for sources. Do the authors use citations, do they provide references and/or a bibliography?

2. check a few facts from the information against a reliable encyclopedia. Good encyclopedias are Credo Reference, Oxford Reference Online, or the encyclopedias found in the library's first-floor reference section.

DO THIS: go back and read your assignment. Answer the following questions:

1. Is this information really relavent to the assingment and to my topic?
2. Is this information written at the appropriate age/knowledge level?
3. Is this information complete, or do I have to find something else to fill in gaps?