FYS: Reimagining Ancient Women (2021)
A guide for students in Professors Van Eerden and Salowey's first-year seminar, created by librarian Maryke Barber
Reference Sources on Myth
The Brill's New Pauly encyclopedia and the Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD) are the main sources you will use to research your myth, and to find references to the myth's ancient sources.
All of these can be found in the Reference Section on the first floor. (Descriptive notes courtesy of Prof. Salowey.)
Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient worldCall Number: HU-Reference DE5 .N4813 2002Make sure you use the blue-titled volumes!
Author abbreviations can be found in Vol. 1.
Oxford Classical DictionaryCall Number: HU-Reference DE5 .O9 2012(can also use DE5 .O9 1999)
Excellent resource for many aspects of the ancient world. The dictionary includes a good list of standard abbreviations for ancient authors and texts. It does not have every obscure mythological figure, but each entry has basic entry level bibliography on the topic.
Reference Sources on Religion
- Shalvi/Hyman Encyclopedia of Jewish Women (Jewish Women's Archive)
The biographic and thematic essays in JWA are written by scholars and feature Jewish women in religion, history, science, art and other categories.
Women in Scripture : a dictionary of named and unnamed women in the Hebrew Bible, the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books, and the New Testament. by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2000A copy is also available in the library's Reference books, BS575 .W593 2000
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religions by Call Number: HU Reference BL458 .E53 1999Publication Date: 1998
The Brill Dictionary of Religion by Call Number: HU Reference BL31 .M4813 2007Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia Judaica by Call Number: HU Reference DS102.8 .E496 2007Publication Date: 200622 volumes of information on Jewish history, knowledge, and modern life.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by Call Number: HU Reference BM50 .O94 1997Publication Date: 1997
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by Call Number: HU Reference BS440 .N443 2006Publication Date: 2006
Additional Reference Books
All of these books can be found in the Reference Section on the first floor. (Descriptive notes on ancient world topics courtesy of Prof. Salowey.)
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Call Number: HU Reference HQ1127 .S25 2001Publication Date: 2001
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC)Call Number: HU-Reference N7760 .L49 1981
Early Greek Myth: A Guide to Literary and Artistic Sources by Call Number: BL782 .G34 1993An excellent resource on the sources for Greek mythology. The book is not organized like a dictionary, but has separate chapters covering different types of myths: creation, heroes, etc. To find information on a specific mythological figure, try the index.
The Meridian Handbook of Classical Mythology by Call Number: BL303 .T75 1974A very good dictionary of mythological topics with concise, descriptive entries and basic information about ancient literary sources.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by Call Number: DE5 .O94 1998A more basic and accessible reference tool than the OCD. The entries are listed in an appendix by subject (e.g. Greek myth and religion, Roman myth and religion). At the back of the book are excellent appendices with maps and chronologies.
Also online, in Oxford Reference online encyclopedia
Dictionary of Ancient Deities by Call Number: BL473 .T87 2001This book has some “popularizing” information, but a very complete listing of deities with a reliable set of alternate names for deities.
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology by Call Number: BL715 .D56 1998This encyclopedia has good general entries for various mythological figures and many alternate spellings.
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome by Call Number: DE59 .C55 1988This book is organized topically with solid discussions by experts on various aspects of the ancient Mediterranean. Volume 2 has a section on religion. Volume 3 has a section on types of literary and visual arts.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Call Number: N5610 .G76 2007
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s by Call Number: NX650.M9 R45 1993
