CLAS240: Greek History (2020): Finding Books
Books!
Architecture and Meaning on the Athenian Acropolis by Call Number: HU-General Collection: NA283 .A25 R48 1995ISBN: 0521469813
Art, Desire and the Body in Ancient Greece by Call Number: HU General Collection: N5633 .S74 1997ISBN: 0521450640Publication Date: 1997-01-15
Asklepios, Medicine, and the Politics of Healing in Fifth-Century Greece: Between Craft and Cult by Call Number: HU-General Collection: R138 .W53 2008ISBN: 9780801889783
Defining beauty : the body in ancient Greek art by Call Number: HU General Collection: N5635.L66 J46 2015 WHERE IS THIS?ISBN: 0714122874Publication Date: 2015
Finding Persephone: Women's Rituals in the Ancient Mediterranean by Call Number: HU-General Collection: BL625.7 .F485 2007ISBN: 0253219388
Greek Sport and Social Status by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780292793743Publication Date: 2010-09-01Click on the link in the "View It" section to access the ebook. Also available in print - REQUEST from Roanoke College.
Greek Tragedy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1281308749Publication Date: 2009-08-21Also available in print. Call number: HU General Collection: PA3131 .R26 2008
Politics and Society in Ancient Greece by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780313054112Publication Date: 2008-01-01Also available to REQUEST from Roanoke College.
What makes good keywords?
Searching is an iterative process, meaning you will need to search multiple times to find the information you need. Start with broad searches (one or two terms) then add more if needed, and be sure to mix up your keywords. Using synonyms is also important. Not returning results for "society"? Try "community", "population", or "social norms" and see if that changes your results.
Find Books
OneSearch - Books
OneSearch is the library's system for searching everything; this box limits your search to books.
More Books
- WorldcatFind books in libraries worldwide; use Inter-Library Loan (see below) to borrow them
HINT: DON'T USE HOLLINS.WORLDCAT.ORG, it will put our books first instead of sorting by relevance - Google BooksGoogle Books contains full-text for books in the public domain and partial-text for books under copyright.
Encyclopedias
Sport in the Ancient World from a to Z by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1134535961Publication Date: 2004-06-01Click on the link in the "View It" section access the encyclopedia. It's also available in print, with the call number: HU Reference (First Floor): GV573 .G654 2004
Brill's New Pauly by Call Number: HU Reference (First Floor): DE5 .N4813 2002ISBN: 9004122591Publication Date: 2011-05-10TIP: go to the "How do I understand a reference entry?" tab on this guide to learn how to read an entry from Brill's New Pauly.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Call Number: HU Reference (First Floor): DE5 .O9 2012ISBN: 9780199545568Publication Date: 2012-05-04TIP: go to the "How do I understand a reference entry?" tab on this guide to learn how to read an entry from the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
