FYS: What is a Nation? 2021: Background Information
This guide is for students in Professor Nuñez's first year seminar.
Suggested Encyclopedias
Nations and Nationalism by Call Number: HU Ref: D299 .N37 2008ISBN: 9781851099078Publication Date: 2008-05-22
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450Call Number: HU Ref: JV22 .E535 2007ISBN: 0028658434Publication Date: 2006-08-25
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: F1406 .E53 1996ISBN: 0684192535Publication Date: 1995-12-01
New Encyclopedia of AfricaCall Number: Hu Ref: DT2 .N48 2008ISBN: 9780684314549Publication Date: 2007-10-08
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East by Call Number: HU Ref: DS43 .E53 1996ISBN: 0028960114Publication Date: 1905-06-01
Encyclopedia of Modern China by Call Number: HU Ref: DS755 .E53 2009ISBN: 9780684315669Publication Date: 2009-07-31
Encyclopedia Judaica by Call Number: HU ref: DS102.8 .E496 2007ISBN: 9780028659282Publication Date: 2006-12-12
The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and ProtestCall Number: JC491 .I58 2009Publication Date: 2009-04-13
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Imperialism and Anti-Imperialism by Call Number: JC359 .P335 2016Publication Date: 2015-10-25
Why use a reference book?
Use these books (and other reference books), found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library, as a starting place for your research. They are a good place to:
- find background information on your subject
- find terms and people and places you can use in later database searches
- get book/article lists about your subject ("bibliography" or "references")
Keep in mind:
- Reference books may not be checked out (to ensure they're available for everybody to use)
- You may scan/copy reference book entries at the library printers, either in the Coffee Commons or on the 2nd floor.
What makes a good keyword?
Below are suggestions for what makes a good keyword:
- Political Parties
- Conflicts
- People
- Locations
- Themes (e.g. feminism, slavery, etc)
Credo Reference
Have You Applied Yet?
Your Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328