chat loading...
Skip to main content

THE253 Stage Lighting 2014: Researching Plays

A guide to research for students in professor Ann Courtney's class, by librarian Maryke Barber

Books From the Library

 

In the catalog you can search for:

  • Play title
  • Playwright's name
  • Try both: title, then name, for more choices.

Tips:

  • Too many results? Use the "name + title" formula to narrow your search
  • Not enough results? Use fewer or more general search terms
  • Use the WORD search
  • Use theater (not theatre) in the library catalog
eBooks (EBSCO)

Advanced Search

The library has over 150,000 eBooks that you can:

  • Read on your computer, or
  • Download to your tablet, or phone.

Click here for eBooks help

Databases - Articles & Reviews

Advanced Search

IBTD, the International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance, is one of the EBSCOhost databases. IBTD contains more than 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.

JSTOR provides full text-articles from a wide range of journals, with great academic coverage of the arts. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by Discipline: Performing Arts, or search only in the abstracts or captions of an article.

LexisNexis® Academic

Search News on LexisNexis Academic

About LexisNexis|Terms and Conditions|Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2012 LexisNexis, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Lexis-nexis has full text articles from nearly 6,000 English-language sources. Excellent source of performance reviews and contemporary reportage, interviews, etc. Suggested search strategy: search Full Text, All Available Sources

What if an article isn't full-text in my database?

First, make sure you're looking at an article. Then click on Hollins JournalFinder. The video below shows you what you'll see.

Using Journal Finder from Wyndham Robertson Library on Vimeo.

Did you know?