HIST226s: Dissent and Reform in American History
American History Primary Sources
Google Doc created in class
- Link to Google DocGoogle Doc you created in class with annotated sources.
Primary Source (title, author, year, URL):
Brief Description (2-3 sentences):
3 contextual questions:
Assign keywords (3+)
Keywords for primary sources
Use keywords associated with primary sources, like: diaries / journals / sources / personal narratives / correspondence / letters / documents
If searching Google use include the keyword "archive".
Your Librarian
Rebecca Seipp
Contact:
seipprl@hollins.edu
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
540.362.6328
Topic 1: The American Revolution
Topic 2: Creating Utopia
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryFind digitized books published before 1923.
- "The New Moral World of Robert Owen and New Harmony" in 'America's Communal Utopias' (1997).This is a chapter of a book, which is a secondary source. Look through the sources they cite to locate primary sources.
- VCU Libraries Social Welfare History ProjectThis site from VCU Libraries describes the Onedia Community and is a secondary source. However, you can use this to locate the primary sources *they* cite.
Topic 3: Fighting Slavery
- Slavery And Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new windowSlavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. This database includes 4 parts:
1) Debates over Slavery and Abolition
2) Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
3) The Institution of Slavery
4) The Age of Emancipation
Topic 4: Challenging the Patriarchy
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online This link opens in a new windowMore than 4,700 publications (books, pamphlets and periodicals) reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
- Internet History Sourcebook at Fordham UniversitySources related to women in North America.
- Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window"Traces the path of women's issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights, focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. "
Topic 5: Contesting Capitalism
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowLink takes you to a guide on how to sign up for NYT's access through Hollins. Once you have an account, Google "New York Times Archives" then use the filters to limit by date.
Topic 6: Organizing Labor
- Bunker Hill Labor CollectionTry using the "Browse" and the "Subject" function.
- Labor Archives of Washington(includes various online collections)
Topic 7: Building Movements
Topic 8: Ending Destruction
- U.S. Environmentalism Since 1945 : A Brief History with Documentsebook ordered 3/24
Topic 9: Demanding Liberation
- Black Panther Party newsletter (in database "Black Thought and Culture")If link is broken, go to "Black Thought and Culture" to access.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new windowUse Part II: 1940 - present
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowLink takes you to a guide on how to sign up for NYT's access through Hollins. Once you have an account, Google "New York Times Archives" then use the filters to limit by date.
Topic 10: Making Conservatism
- New York TimesLink takes you to a guide on how to sign up for NYT's access through Hollins. Once you have an account, Google "New York Times Archives" then use the filters to limit by date.
Topic 11: Fighting Racism
- New York TimesLink takes you to a guide on how to sign up for NYT's access through Hollins. Once you have an account, Google "New York Times Archives" then use the filters to limit by date.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis) This link opens in a new windowTip: search by event names and organizers (e.g. founders of Black Lives Matter), and use filters to limit to specific newspapers.