chat loading...
Skip to main content

GWS 219: Food, Culture & Social Justice 2014: Books

eBooks 2 collections

About searching ebooks

Search the EBSCO e-books collection because:

  • It contains about 100,000 e-books that are not in the library catalog.
  • You will be searching more information about the book -- not just title, author, subject headings, but also abstracts describing the book.
  • You can search the full text of the books (go to the Advanced Search, and choose All Text in the dropdown).
  • You can read the book right then -- no need to go to the shelf to get it.
  • You can check out and download the book to a tablet or e-reader (for 7 days). You must create an EBSCO account first.

Library Catalog

 

Library Catalog Search

Search our online catalog for books, e-books and films:

WHAT AM I SEARCHING? Records representing every book, DVD, CD, etc., in our library and Roanoke College’s library. These records contain:

  •  Title/Author/Location/Status/Call Number/Subject Headings/Table of Contents (maybe)

LOCATIONS:

  • HU-Reference books: located on the 1st floor of the library
  • HU-General Collection: located on the 2nd (P-Z) and 3rd (A-N) floors of the library
  • RC-General Collection: click Request this item for delivery in 1 week day!
  • E-Books: follow the link to read the book online!

HOW:

 

  •  Title: If you know a specific title.
  •  Author: If you know a specific author. Type the last name first. This gives you works BY a person.
  •  Keyword (or word 
    •  Best place to start a search for materials about a specific topic.
    •  Most similar to a Google search.
    •  Keywords: terms important to your topic
      • Names of people, movements, countries, wars, etc
      • Themes in your research (economic or culture or population)
      • Think about broader/narrower terms (France is narrower, Europe is broader)
      • Synonyms: (female and women) and related terms (sex and gender)
  • Subject: DO NOT START HERE. These are Library of Congress subject headings.
    • Find these headings by locating good books on your topic, then looking at those books’ subjects.

      The World's Libraries (WorldCat)

      You can use the same searches you used effectively in the catalog (both subject and keyword), and get a lot more results! WorldCat is the closest thing there is to a universal library catalog. It includes the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide.

      • Use the limiters: for example, “not juvenile” and “not fiction.”
      • Subscription WorldCat defaults to put the most popular materials on top. Free WorldCat defaults to put the most relevant materials on top.
      • Because you are searching a much larger universe of material, you may want to search for your terms only in the title.
      • If a very small number of libraries (think single digits) hold the item, we may have trouble getting it through Interlibrary Loan.

      Subject Guide

      James Miller's picture
      James Miller
      JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
      Contact:
      millerjc@hollins.edu
      540-362-6653
      Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 103
      B.A. English, Austin College
      M.L.I.S., Library & Information Science, Drexel University
      540-362-6653