chat loading...
Skip to main content

SPAN 231 - Conversation and Composition, Spring 2014: Finding Contextual Info - Library Resources

Using the Library's Databases to Find Journal Articles

WHERE:

  • Access the databases via the Find Articles & Databases link on the library website. Sign in using your name and the last 5 digits of your Hollins ID.

HOW:

  • Browse the databases either from the alphabetical list or by subject
  • Check the holdings to see if the full text is available online or in paper
  • Looking for a specific journal? Try the Journal Finder!
  • Can't find the article you're looking for in the library or online? Try Interlibrary Loan!

SEARCH TIPS:

  • When searching for people, search last name first (example: Lamarr, Hedy)
  • Keywords: don't forget to try broader/narrower terms, synonyms, and related terms
  • Click on each title to get the full information (catalog record)
  • Use Subject links at the bottom of the catalog record to find similar items
  • Try a Boolean Operator: AND, NOT, OR
  • How about a wildcard? Invent* will give you: Invent, Invents, Inventor, Invention

Looking for a Journal?

Got a citation?

Use the Journal Finder to find a specific journal.

If Hollins does not have the journal, use Interlibrary loan.

Databases

Online Encyclopedias

Selected Reference Books

Use these books (and other reference books), located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the library, as a starting place for your research.  Reference books are a good place to find background information on your research and to become familiar with the concepts and terminology associated with your topic.

To locate discipline-specific reference books, do an advanced search for your general topic (world music, latin america, etc) limiting your search to Location:  HU-Reference.