Econ480: Economics Senior Thesis 2024: Articles
Article Databases
- Research Papers in Economics (RePEC)A decentralized database of working papers and journal articles, focused exclusively on economics.
- National Bureau of Economic ResearchThe NBER's goal is to disseminate "unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community." The database includes working papers and NBER publications. All working papers are available freely online after 18 months; some may be available sooner.
Good starter journals
- Journal of Economic PerspectivesProvides economist reporting & critiques on recent research findings, evaluates public policy initiatives, & serves as insightful readings for class room, public, & business use. Helps to translate newsworthy scholarly findings into an easier-to-understand, digestable format.
- Journal of Economic LiteratureExtensive literature and book reviews.
Article Databases: General Interest
- Google ScholarGoogle's answer to scholarly searching. Wide-ranging, including links to articles, books, theses, student papers, and whatever else it deems scholarly.
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowAn archive of scholarly journals, often dating to the first issue of the journal (to the 1800s in some cases). Newest issues of journals (last 3 to 5 years) are usually not included.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)EBSCO's largest and general-interest database.
- Social Science Research NetworkA freely available online search. Includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 302,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 242,500 downloadable full text documents.
Article Databases: Around the Disciplines
Thinking about a topic related to:
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly business and economics journals and newspaper/magazine articles dealing with business and commerce. Also provides detailed statistics and company profiles.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowOur primary education database. Covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Full text for over 1,000 journals.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Focused on scholarly journals, with the inclusion of some activist publications.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowExcellent database for finding articles about North American history. TIP: Advanced search allows limiting by historical period.
- PsycNET (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFind scholarly articles, dissertations, and psychological scales (tests, measures).
PsycNET has precise indexing allowing a user to drill down to age group, population group, methodology, and by tests and measures.
Your Librarian
Luke Vilelle
he/him
Contact:
Office: Library 1st floor: next to building entrance. Schedule an appointment at this URL: https://calendly.com/lvilelle/30min
______
______
362.6232
Website