Comm101: Intro to Communication Studies 2024: Searching for Articles
What's In Communication & Mass Media?
CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals.
- Scholarly Journals: Journal of Advertising; Journal of Communication; Media History; Journal of Peace Research
- Trade Journals: Advertising Age; MediaWeek; Broadcasting & Cable
- Conference Papers from the International Communication Association meetings
- Chapters of Books: Profiles in Journalistic Courage; Media Studies
Dates of coverage: Some journals have full text available back to their first issue (as early as 1915)
Full text? PARTIAL.
Scholarly journal articles
- Communication & Mass Media This link opens in a new windowOur most comprehensive collection of communication studies journals.
- SAGE Journals (primarily Communication Studies titles) This link opens in a new windowWe subscribe to the complete collection of SAGE journals in media and communication. Check the box for "Only content I have full access to" to only see full-text articles.
Popular Press articles
You may find popular press / mass media articles via the open web, or by utilizing library subscriptions.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowRegister for a NYT account with your Hollins e-mail address to gain access to an unlimited number of NYT articles through our institutional subscription.
- Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur most comprehensive collection of newspapers and other media sources, Access World News is an excellent source for small to medium-sized papers across the United States, and for international media sources.
Searching Tips
- Keywords = Terms important to your topic, NOT words such as of, then, where, etc.
- Think about your topic. What other words are used to represent your topic?
- Pay attention to the words used in your results (particularly in the subject heading). What other words are used?
- Combine separate concepts with AND.
- Combine synonyms with OR. Example: (journalism or reporting) and war.
Results
- Sort by date or relevance.
- E-mail or print articles you are interested in.
- Get a formatted ciation for an article.
- Too many results?
- You can immediately refine/narrow your results on the results screen by Full Text Availability; Year of Publication; Souce Type; and Subject.
Your Librarian
Luke Vilelle
he/him
Contact:
Office: Library 1st floor: next to building entrance. Schedule an appointment at this URL: https://calendly.com/lvilelle/30min
______
______
362.6232
Website