FYS: Performing the Unknown (2022)
More Books
Worldcat: Find books in libraries worldwide, and order them via Inter-Library Loan if Hollins does not have them.
TIP: Using www.worldcat.org will sort your results by relevance; using hollins.worldcat.org will put our books first.
Google Books contains full text for books in the public domain (pre-1923); partial text for books under copyright.
Very useful for finding out which books contain information on your topic; then you can order them via inter-library loan if Hollins doesn't have them.
More Articles
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowMore than 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
- Google ScholarBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Note: not included in OneSearch. Do evaluate results: not all in this database is scholarly.
To link Google Scholar to library resources, click on Settings, then click on Library Links, then search for Hollins and check those boxes.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an archive of scholarly journal articles and eBooks from a wide variety of disciplines (from the sciences to the humanities to the arts), with journal coverage dating back to the 1800s. The most recent two to five years of a journal may not be included, however.
Why Encyclopedias
Why? Because they're vetted expert sources that give you a solid summary of important evidence, usually followed by a must-read list. For example:
Credo searches hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias, including The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance, American Women in the Performing Arts, Harvard Dictionary of Music, and more.
Free Jazz and Free Improvisation: an encyclopedia by Call Number: HU Music Library Reference ML102.J3 J46 2004
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Stage Actors and ActingCall Number: E-Book and HU-Reference PN2061 .C33 2015
Reference Books are on the library's 1st floor.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request Items that Hollins Doesn't Have
You can request books, films, and articles the library (or Roanoke College) doesn't have via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). We will borrow them from another library, who will send them to Hollins for you.
ILL is a free service. It takes approximately 2-4 days for articles, 1-3 weeks for books and films.