2020-21 The Antiracist Bookshelf
This is a guide for material to learn more about anti-racism. The guide, based on "The Antiracist Bookshelf" created at William & Mary, was created in the 2020-21 academic year, and is no longer being regularly updated.
Addressing + Talking About Racism
Black Stats (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU Reference: E185.86 .M637 2014ISBN: 9781595589194Publication Date: 2014-01-28We have an ebook copy and a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Activism
The Black Campus Movement: Black Students and the Racial Reconstitution of Higher Education, 1965–1972 (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1137016507Publication Date: 2012-03-12To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Ella Baker and the Black Freedom Movement (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: E185.97.B214 R36 2003ISBN: 0807862703Publication Date: 2003-11-20We have an ebook copy and a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Lighting the Fires of Freedom: African American women in the civil rights movement (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1620973367Publication Date: 2018-04-01To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
The Movement for Reproductive Justice: Empowering women of color through social activism (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1479812706Publication Date: 2020-05-19To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Remaking Black Power (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: HQ1161 .F37 2017ISBN: 9781469634371Publication Date: 2017-12-18
Criminal Justice/Legal Issues
The New Jim Crow (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: HV9950 .A437 2010ISBN: 9781595581037Publication Date: 2010-01-05We have an ebook copy and a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
115 in 2020-21
A Perilous Path: Talking Race, Inequality, and the Law (eBook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1620973960Publication Date: 2018-03-01To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Lethal Violence & Police Brutality
American Lynching (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: HV6457 .R867 2012ISBN: 9780300181388Publication Date: 2012-10-30We have an ebook copy and a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Lynching: Violence, Rhetoric, and American Identity (eBook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781496821638Publication Date: 2019-03-12To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
The Contested Murder of Latasha Harlins: Justice, Gender, and the Origins of the L.A. Riots (eBook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0199339597Publication Date: 2013-01-01To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Historical Trauma
Enslaved Women in America: : from colonial times to Emancipation (ebook) by Call Number: EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America) (HOLLINS)ISBN: 1442208724Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Examining Tuskegee (ebook) by Call Number: EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America) (HOLLINS)ISBN: 0807898678Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Freedom at Risk: The Kidnapping of Free Blacks in America 1780-1865 (ebook) by Call Number: JSTOR EBA eBooks - PURCHASED TITLES (HOLLINS)ISBN: 0813149797Publication Date: 2014-07-11
Jim Crow Wisdom: Memory and Identity in Black America Since 1940 (print & ebook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: E185.625 .H64 2013ISBN: 9781469610702Publication Date: 2013-10-15Follow link to go to eBook.
Violence from Slavery To #BlackLivesMatter (ebook) by Call Number: Taylor & Francis eBooks Complete (Hollins)ISBN: 9780429342684Publication Date: 2019-12-03
Intersectional Perspectives
Black on Both Sides (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: HQ77.95.U6 S66 2017ISBN: 9781517901738Publication Date: 2017-12-05Also available at Roanoke College.
Fiction (Lived Experiences)
Kindred: a Graphic Novel Adaptation (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: Bestsellers - First Floor PZ 7.7 .D84 KIN 2017ISBN: 141970947XPublication Date: 2017-01-10We have an ebook copy and a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Non-Black POC Experiences
America Is in the Heart (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: PR9550.9.B8 A8 1973ISBN: 029595289XPublication Date: 2003-12-01We have an ebook copy and a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
How to Be South Asian in America (eBook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1439903042Publication Date: 2011-03-28To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
We Have Not Stopped Trembling Yet (eBook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1438469535Publication Date: 2018-05-01To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Racism in Education
Cutting school : privatization, segregation, and the end of public education (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1620972492Publication Date: 2017To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Despite the Best Intentions: How Racial Inequality Thrives in Good Schools (print and ebook) by Call Number: HU General Collection LC212.2 .D53 2015ISBN: 9780195342727Publication Date: 2015-09-02We have an ebook copy and a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Institutional Slavery: slaveholding churches, schools, colleges, and businesses in Virginia, 1680-1860 (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1316496775Publication Date: 2015-12-11Includes discussion of Hollins.
To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Knocking at Our Own Door: Milton A. Galamison and the struggle to integrate New York City schools (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0585098735Publication Date: 1997-01-01To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
The Lost Education of Horace Tate: uncovering the hidden heroes who fought for justice in schools (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1620971062Publication Date: 2018-07-01To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Pushout : the criminalization of black girls in schools (print and ebook) by Call Number: LC2731 .M59 2016 (or Ebook)ISBN: 1620974134Publication Date: 2016To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
White kids : growing up with privilege in a racially divided America (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1479880523Publication Date: 2018To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Why Busing Failed: race, media, and the national resistance to school desegregation (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0520959876Publication Date: 2016-03-01To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
NO USAGE.
Racism in Science
Algorithms of Oppression (print and eBook) by Call Number: REQUEST from Roanoke College: ZA4230 .N63 2018ISBN: 9781479837243Publication Date: 2018-02-20We have an ebook copy and Roanoke College has a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
NO USAGE.
Black and Blue (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: RA563.M56 H63 2012ISBN: 9780520248908Publication Date: 2012-04-03We have an ebook copy and a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
NO eBOOK
Just Medicine (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection: RA448.4 .M38 2015ISBN: 9781479896738Publication Date: 2015-12-11We have an ebook copy and a print copy. To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
0 in 2020-21
Whiteness
Habits of Whiteness (print and eBook) by Call Number: HU General Collection E184.A1 M146 2009ISBN: 0253002885Publication Date: 2009-03-26To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Project MUSE EBA
Me and white supremacy: Combat racism, change the world, and become a good ancestor (ebook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781728209821Publication Date: 202047 in 2020-21
White Flight: Atlanta and the Making of Modern Conservatism (print and eBook) by Call Number: REQUEST from Roanoke CollegeISBN: 0691092605Publication Date: 2005-10-02To access the ebook, follow the link to OneSearch, and then go to the "View It" section.
Project MUSE EBA
White fragility: Why It's So Hard For White People To Talk About Racism (print and ebook) by Call Number: HU General Collection HT1521 .D486 2018 (or ebook)ISBN: 9780807047422Publication Date: 20182 in 2020-21
