This is the "Home/Books" page of the "Film Research Guide 2013" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Research Guide 2013   Tags: albaugh, film, gerber-stroh, marshall, screenwriting  

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.hollins.edu/filmresearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Home/Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Films in our Library

Find Books

Use our online catalog to search by title, author, subject or key word. Some examples of subject headings for film are:

      
     

    Request from RC, Annex & Music

    Request To request items from Roanoke College or from the library Annex, click "Request this Item" and fill out your name/ID bar code number.   

    Requests made before 10:30 a.m. are available the same weekday after 1:00 p.m.; requests made after 10:30 a.m. are available next weekday after 1:00 p.m.

    Screenplays

    Use our online catalog to search for screenplays by title, author, or key word. You can also browse the shelf; most screenplays are shelved at call number PN 1997 on the library's second floor. (map)

    SimplyScripts
    Find screenplays free online, from a variety of sources.

        
       

      Browse

      You can also browse the shelves. The following call numbers contain the majority of film-related materials:

         Stacks:

      • PN 1990-1992 - Broadcasting (including television)
      • PN 1993-1999 - Motion Pictures
      • TR 845-898 - Cinematography and Film Editing

         Reference:

      • PN 1993 - PN 1999 (film and television)
      • Z 5782 - Z 5784 M9 (film research guides: indexes, bibliographies etc.)
      • TR 845-898 - Cinematography and Film Editing
       

      Reference Examples

      Cover Art
      American Film Institute Desk Reference - George Ochoa; Melinda Corey; Clint Eastwood (Introduction by); Jean Picker Firstenberg (Preface by)
      Call Number: PN1994 .A599 2002
      ISBN: 0789489341
      Publication Date: 2002-11-15

      Cover Art
      American Silent Film Comedies - Blair Miller
      Call Number: PN1995.9.C55 M53 1995
      ISBN: 0899509290
      Publication Date: 1995-07-01

      Cover Art
      Encyclopedia of Chinese Film - Yingjin Zhang (Editor); Zhiwei Xiao
      Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 Z53 1998
      ISBN: 0415151686
      Publication Date: 1999-02-10

      Cover Art
      Encyclopedia of Early Cinema - Richard Abel (Editor)
      Call Number: PN1993.45 .E53 2005
      ISBN: 0415234409
      Publication Date: 2005-01-12

      Cover Art
      Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film - Ian Aitken (Editor)
      Call Number: PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006 vols 1-3
      ISBN: 1579584454
      Publication Date: 2005-10-27

      Cover Art
      Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings and Series - Richard B. Armstrong; Mary Willems Armstrong
      Call Number: PN1997.8 .A76 2001
      ISBN: 0786408936
      Publication Date: 2000-11-15

      Cover Art
      Encyclopaedia of the Musical Film - Stanley Green
      Call Number: PN1995.9.M86 G7 1981
      ISBN: 0195029585
      Publication Date: 1981-09-17

      Cover Art
      Film Noir Guide: 745 Films of the Classic Era, 1940-1959 - Michael F. Keaney
      Call Number: PN1995.9.F54 K43 2003
      ISBN: 0786415479
      Publication Date: 2003-04-02

      Cover Art
      Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema - S. Torriano Berry; Venise T. Berry
      Call Number: PN1995.9.N4 B433 2007
      ISBN: 9780810855458
      Publication Date: 2007-01-26

      Cover Art
      Reel Women: An International Directory of Contemporary Feature Films About Women - Jane Sloan
      Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 S62 2007
      ISBN: 0810857383
      Publication Date: 2007-03-29

      Ask the Film Librarian

      Profile Image
      Maryke Barber
      JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
      Contact Info
      (540)362-6592
      Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 102
      Send Email
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip