Course Guides: Film Research Guide (2023): Articles & Databases

Articles in OneSearch and Google Scholar

This search combines the Hollins + Roanoke College collections.

Find more full text! LibKey automatically creates links to full text article PDFs from the library's subscriptions.

A-Z Database List
Click on the "Subjects" dropdown to see all available subject areas

Film and TV Journals & Magazines

FIAF (International Index to Film Periodicals Plus) This link opens in a new window
Covers 370 academic and popular film and television journals; includes full-text content from over 50 journals.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Find primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database covers scholarly journals in all visual and performing arts; select full text starting in 1997; indexing from 1929.
Artforum Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Magazine of contemporary art news, exhibition reviews and artist interviews; also includes architecture, film, fashion, photography and music. This digital archive includes articles from 1962 - 2000.
Communication & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
This database contains scholarly journals in communications research. Recent articles are full-text.
Rolling Stone This link opens in a new window
Magazine featuring articles and interviews on popular music, film, TV, and politics, 1967-present.

Other Journals & Magazines

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large database containing over 40 film journals; recent articles are full-text, while earlier may be citation only.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on the motion picture history of North America. Some full text, most articles are abstracts only. For world history, see "Historical Abstracts."
Dissertations Online This link opens in a new window
2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day; 1.2 million full text dissertations. A great database for difficult topics!

Google Scholar
Broad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Note the need to evaluate results: it's not all full text, and it's not all scholarly. To link Google Scholar to library resources, click on Settings, then click on Library Links, then search for Hollins and check those boxes.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on world motion picture history. Some full text, most articles are abstracts only.
For history of North America, see "America: History & Life."
Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a wide range of journals, all in full text; use for film studies (13 titles included) or general research.
MLA (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
MLA provides access to information from journals on literature, literary theory and criticism and dramatic theory. Coverage starts in 1963 with indexing, more recent articles are full-text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse offers full-text coverage of academic journals in the humanities and social sciences, including select titles in film and performing arts.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from popular magazines from 1890-1982. RG contains citations from over 3 million articles from 375 leading magazines.

Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With U.S. newspaper coverage up to 1922, this database covers the early history of film.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A current news and business database, Factiva includes content from newspapers, magazines, and transcripts from television/radio news programs. INCLUDES Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and New York Times.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 15,000 business, news, and legal sources.

TIP: See also our section for Industry Data & News

Print Journals and Magazines in the Library

Print journals are shelved on the library's ground floor.

Article Indexes

Indexes help you search older magazines and newspapers for film reviews and articles. These are the most important print indexes for film research:

SHELVED ALPHABETICALLY

Art Index (includes film, 1929-1984)
Biography Index (1946-2006)
Film Literature Index (1973-1997)
International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-1986)
New York Times Index (1851-present)
N.Y.T. Obituary Index (1858-1978)
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-present) Pre-1977 look under "moving picture plays", 1977 - "motion pictures".

SHELVED IN REFERENCE

The Critical Index: a Bibliography of Articles on Film in English (1946-1973) Z5784.M9 G47
Film Review Annual (1987-2000) PN 1995.F 465
Motion Picture Directors: a Bibliography of Articles (1900-1972) Z5784.M9 S34
N.Y.T. Film Reviews (1913-1968)PN 1995.N 4