BIO 350: Advanced Molecular Genetics: Articles & Databases
Use this LibGuide for your molecular genetics literature review.
Looking for a Journal?
Got a citation?
Use the Journal Finder to find a specific journal.
If Hollins does not have the journal, use Interlibrary loan.
Databases
SEARCH TIPS:
- Keywords: don't forget to try broader/narrower terms, synonyms, and related terms
- Click on each title to get the full information (catalog record)
- Use Subject links at the bottom of the catalog record to find similar items
- Try a Boolean Operator: AND, NOT, OR
- How about a wildcard? Gene* will give you: Genes, Genetics, Geneticist
- Arts & Sciences (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowFull text-articles from a wide range of journals in the arts and sciences. TIP: using advanced search, you can limit your search by discipline – for example Biological Sciences, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and/or Botany & Plant Sciences.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 7,000 publications on all academic subjects, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. You will also find books, reports, etc.
- Biological Sciences from ProquestFind abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and more
- Google ScholarBroad coverage of scholarly material on all subjects. Not all full text, but you can find some interesting material not found elsewhere.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowFind full text and citations from more than 1300 journals in the area of environmental history, conservation, marine science, energy, geography, environmental law, and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowMore than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
What if an article isn't full-text in my database?
Sciences Librarian
James Miller
he/him/his
Contact:
millerjc@hollins.edu
540-362-6653
Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 103
B.A. English, Austin College
M.L.I.S., Library & Information Science, Drexel University
540-362-6653
Office: Wyndham Robertson Library, 1st floor, Room 103
B.A. English, Austin College
M.L.I.S., Library & Information Science, Drexel University
540-362-6653
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology , Science, Video Tutorials