Theatre History, Theory & Criticism (2024): Get Started: Background/Reference
A guide to research for students in theatre classes, created by Librarian Maryke Barber
Cambridge Histories of Theatre (E-Books)
The Cambridge History of American TheatreCall Number: E-Book (3 vols.)
The Cambridge History of British TheatreCall Number: E-Book Vol. 1 -3
Online Encyclopedias
Browsing the Reference Books
Reference books are located on the first floor of the library, with the call numbers:
- PN's, especially PN 1580-3300
- Literature - organized by country in other areas, e.g.:
- PQ = France, Italy, Spain
- PR = Britain
- PS = United States
- PT = Germanic countries
- Z5780-5782 - bibliographies
A few recommended reference books
Cambridge Guide to TheatreCall Number: HU-Reference PN2035 .C27 1995
PN 1625 and PN 2035 are the two main places to look for theatre reference books. However, keep in mind that plays are literature, so some reference books will also show up in other areas. For example, most reference books about Shakespeare are found around PN 2892.
The Oxford Companion to TheatreCall Number: HU-Reference PN2035 .O9 1983- Critical Survey of DramaCall Number: HU-Reference PR 623.C75 1985
Dictionary of the theatre: terms, concepts, and analysisCall Number: HU-Reference PN 2035.P2913 1998- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World DramaCall Number: Hu-Reference PN 1625.M3
Elizabethan DramatistsCall Number: HU-Reference - PR 651.E48 1987- Jacobean and Caroline DramatistsCall Number: HU-Reference PR 671.J33 1987
New Reference!
The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of ShakespeareCall Number: HU-Reference PR2976 .C295 2016OMG. So useful.
Encyclopedia of Greek TragedyCall Number: HU Reference PA3133 .E53 2014
The Encyclopedia of Greek ComedyCall Number: E-Book from Wiley Online Library
Historical Dictionary of German Theater by Call Number: HU Reference PN2657 .G73 2015ISBN: 1442250194
Historical Dictionary of British Theatre, Early Period by Call Number: HU Reference PN2581 .G73 2013Publication Date: 2013-10-10
