ENG 318: Imagining Race in American Letters: Keywords Project
Reference Sources
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window600,000 words, 3 million quotations, the authority on the English language.
Race and Racism in the United States by Call Number: HU Reference: E184.A1 R254 2014ISBN: 9781440803451Publication Date: 2014-06-24
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Call Number: HU Reference: E184.A1 E584 2008ISBN: 9780028660202Publication Date: 2007-11-12
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture by Call Number: HU Reference: HT1521 .D537 2003ISBN: 0761969004Publication Date: 2002-12-26
Scholarly
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an archive of scholarly journal articles and eBooks from a wide variety of disciplines (from the sciences to the humanities to the arts), with journal coverage dating back to the 1800s. The most recent two to five years of a journal may not be included, however.
Google Books Ngram Viewer
The Google Books Ngram viewer is a database that allows you to search for words or phrases in the 25 million plus books scanned in Google Books.
You can use this to search see how often your word was used in published books during a certain time period. Remember, you can click on the links below the graphs to search Google Books. See a spike in usage? Try to figure out what's going on during that time period!
Newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch selected newspapers from 1690-1920.
Literary Sources
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an archive of scholarly journal articles and eBooks from a wide variety of disciplines (from the sciences to the humanities to the arts), with journal coverage dating back to the 1800s. The most recent two to five years of a journal may not be included, however.
NOTE: JSTOR does contain older literary journal - you need to limit by the discipline "Language & Literature" (in the Advanced Search). You may need to Google the title of an journal you are not familiar with in order to determine if it is literary journal.
- UNZArchive of periodicals from the past 200 years. Most free content is pre-1923 due to copyright.
UNZ:
Robert Unz created this archive and is a prominent libertarian. Here's a brief article about the database: http://www.openculture.com/2012/06/unzorg_a_new_vast_and_slightly_right-wing_archive_of_magazines_books_and_tv_shows.html
Other
NOTE: North American Women & Letters covers all of N. America (hence, the name) - you may want to double check the location to make sure it's pertinent.
Your Librarian
MSIS, Information Science
The University of Texas at Austin
BA, History
Southwestern University
Government Documents
- Hathi Trust LibraryHathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.